Please read the Forum Rules before posting.

Photo
- - - - -

Questions...Planning new Bible and Footnote Modules

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 chulew

chulew

New to Bible Support

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 05 November 2014 - 02:18 PM

Hi all,

I am planning to create a new bible module as well as a module to display footnotes (commentary or dictionary format?). I have some programming experience but nothing in SQL. In the beginning of the ToolTip NT-2.10 tutorial, it mentions using SQLite since. I think this would be the best way to go if I'm to start from the ground up with my bible and commentary texts but I'm not sure. I'm not real clear which SQLite download i need (for Windows 7) and how I would go about getting my content into tables.

My bible text is full of footnotes (often numerous footnotes per verse). Here's what I envision:

My bible module will have footnotes that appear as the Strong's numbering as in the KJV+ bible but they open a dictionary to that particular footnote. In the footnote (as in the Strong's dictionary) there are links, rather than just tooltips, to a second instance, if possible, of the same bible module or to a completely different bible module, or to the web.

So my questions are:

1. Should I bother converting my texts to SQLite first? If so, how and with which download? (My footnotes (dictionary defs) are in a seperate txt file from my bible text txt file.)
  2. Can I control the new (lower) window split? (I can't seem to navigate this in e-sword, i.e. go to different book/chapter/verse)
  3. Can it split more than once? (Can I view Gen 1:1, John 1:1, and Rev 1:1 all from KVJ+ at the same time?)
  4. Can I display two bible module panes simultaneously?

Thanks in advance!!

Chule

#2 APsit190

APsit190

e-Sword Tools Developer

• Members (T)
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,872 posts
  • LocationLand of the Long White Cloud (AKA New Zealand)

Posted 05 November 2014 - 04:11 PM

Hi all,