Please read the Forum Rules before posting.

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Installing purchased PC modules onto Esword for Android

6 replies to this topic

#1 TraRene55

TraRene55

New to Bible Support

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 November 2023 - 12:05 AM

I've been using Esword on my Windows laptop for several years and have many modules installed. I would like to use these modules on my Android tablets and mobile phones. Where can I find instructions on how to install these modules on Android devices?

#2 Olaf Bacon

Olaf Bacon

e-Sword Fanatic

• Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • LocationSouth Africa

Posted 01 November 2023 - 01:10 AM

See the advice of Rick Meyers, who developed e-Sword for Android.

https://www.e-sword.net/android/faq.htm

#3 Tj Higgins

Tj Higgins

e-Sword Fanatic

• Members (T)
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,466 posts

Posted 01 November 2023 - 10:56 AM

I've been using Esword on my Windows laptop for several years and have many modules installed. I would like to use these modules on my Android tablets and mobile phones. Where can I find instructions on how to install these modules on Android devices?

Before installing modules from the Windows version into the Android version they must be in the correct file format for the Android version. e-Sword for Android uses the same module file format that is used for the Apple/Mac versions of e-Sword. This is the file format with the extensions that end in the letter "i" which are as follows:

Bible (bbli)
Commentary (cmti)
Dictionary (dcti)
Bible Reading Plan (brpi).
Devotional (devi)
Reference Library (refi)
Topic File (refi)
Lexicon (lexi)

Modules for the Windows version have file extensions that end in the letter "x" as shown below:

Bible (bblx)
Commentary (cmtx)
Dictionary (dctx)
Bible Reading Plan (brpx)
Devotional (devx)
Topic (topx)
Harmony File (harx)
Maps/Graphics (mapx)