Please read the Forum Rules before posting.

Photo
- - - - -

Bible module creation newbie question/problem

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 JD4x4

JD4x4

New to Bible Support

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 February 2019 - 08:29 AM

I've been trying to create "bible" modules from the various Books of Enoch in order to compare versions/transcriptions, and possibly enhance them with Strongs and/or other references.

My reason for using Bible module format is mainly because that is the only e-Sword format (afaik) which allows for side by side text comparison which is synchronized by Book/Chapter/Verse.

I believe that I'm finding that Book, Chapter, Verse designations are limited to the canonical B/C/V's plus a fixed set of Apocrypha B/C/V's. Is this correct?  Or do I not understand the general use of ToolTip NT or the markup language of e-Sword bible modules? (Both likely since I'm a newbie!)

I understand that Bible Modules should have an expected level of integrity and security, but unfortunately I see no other way to compare texts synchronized and side by side. And if this is not possible does anyone know of other software which can do this?

#2 BH.

BH.

Utility Developer

• Contributors
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • LocationCalifornia

Posted 12 February 2019 - 08:39 AM

You understand correctly that e-Swor4 supports a set list of canonical books.  For your project, I'd suggest making it a Topic Notes file, with links to the canonical books which would be viewed in the Bible view. 

#3 JD4x4

JD4x4

New to Bible Support

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 February 2019 - 08:45 AM

You understand correctly that e-Swor4 supports a set list of canonical books.  For your project, I'd suggest making it a Topic Notes file, with links to the canonical books which would be viewed in the Bible view. 

Thank you for your quick reply.
Sadly, my main interest was to be able to compare two or more differing texts.