Please read the Forum Rules before posting.

Photo
- - - - -

Study Note Problem

2 replies to this topic

#1 maverick1972

maverick1972

New to Bible Support

• Veterans
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 14 August 2018 - 08:14 PM

Friends,

I have an interesting problem. I have been backing up my notes for about 10 years and copying the study.notx file as I make changes. I do this as I might add to my notes while working at the church, then when I come home, I simply copy the file and voila. This has worked wonderfully until now.

I'm wondering if there is a file size limitation? As soon as the size of the backup went from 5,877 to 5,944 it became empty. The size of the file is still 5,944 but all the verses and 10 years of notes are blank. Yet, I copy back a file from 6 months ago and it comes back, albeit 6 months behind in notes.

What could cause this? Both versions are 11.1.0.

Blessings,

#2 APsit190

APsit190

e-Sword Tools Developer

• Members (T)
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,868 posts
  • LocationLand of the Long White Cloud (AKA New Zealand)

Posted 15 August 2018 - 03:30 PM

I'm wondering if there is a file size limitation?

Yes there is. It is important to understand that because e-Sword is a Database Reader, which also has the capability of generating Database files by the note editors, it is limited by the type of Database Management System (DBMS) it uses. SQLite is a Relational DBMS, of which it can hold only a certain amount of Tables and Records, and a certain amount of data within that system. As to what the actual maximum capacity for SQLite DBMS is, I have no idea. That said, if the data exceeds the capacity of what that system is able to hold/handle, then generally that system will crash, and/or there will be a loss of data, or that the database file becomes corrupted.