Please read the Forum Rules before posting.

Photo

Syntax & variables to insert a new book in BBLX format

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 madi14

madi14

New to Bible Support

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 02 July 2015 - 12:55 PM

When opening the e-sword utility,one may see, on the left panel a listing of Bible book (Genesis, Exodus,... Maccabees, etc) is it possible (permitted) to insert a new book such as "The Book of the Jubilees", with its own chapters & verses?

Please help with the "correct syntax/variables". 

Thanx in advance!

Ps-: "I am not a programming-expert"

#2 Tj Higgins

Tj Higgins

e-Sword Fanatic

• Members (T)
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,465 posts

Posted 02 July 2015 - 03:35 PM

There are a few issues with what you want to do, first Tooltip uses a built in list of abbreviations for the various standard bible books. However the program also has an option to use custom external abbreviations lists along with the built in list so in theory at least a custom bblx module could be created that includes non standard bible books. However getting E-Sword to recognize non standard bible books is another matter entirely. E-sword does recognize the Apocrypha which includes the books Esdras, Tobit, Judith, Maccabees, Prayer of Manasseh, Wisdom, Sirach, and Baruch. 

I am not sure if E-sword will recognize books other then the ones listed above. You could create an abbreviation list text file for just one book and use that to create a single book test bblx file. The install the test file in E-sword and see if E-sword recognizes the book you used in the test module

Edited by Tj Higgins, 02 July 2015 - 07:35 PM.

#3 madi14

madi14

New to Bible Support

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 02 July 2015 - 07:55 PM