Please read the Forum Rules before posting.

Photo
- - - - -

e-Sword SQLite Resources

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 TommyJSmithJr

TommyJSmithJr

New to Bible Support

• Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • LocationGeorgia, United States

Posted 26 January 2014 - 02:31 PM

Hello All,

I have used and recommended e-Sword for years.  I am a programmer, among other things, and have decided to wade into developing some modules and tools. I program in a variety of languages (VB, C++, C#, Objective C, Pascal, FORTRAN, Java, JS, VBS, etc.) and have started a project in Visual Studio, but not locked into MS.  

From what I have read about Rick Meyers and e-Sword, he used Microsoft tools to create e-Sword.  I have found different .dll files from different sources that provide code to work with SQLite 3 files.

I want to use the same resource used by e-Sword to prevent including third-party files in the Assembly Cache, or installing them separately.  I am hoping the installed resources of either software for accessing SQLite files are accessible by other applications.  This would prevent possible .dll problems and ensure compatibility.

DOES ANYONE KNOW WHICH RESOURCES EITHER RICK MEYERS OR BRENT HILDEBRAND USED WHEN THEY WROTE THEIR SOFTWARE? 

All assistance is most appreciated.

Edited by TommyJSmithJr, 26 January 2014 - 02:40 PM.

#2 Josh Bond

Josh Bond

Administrator

• Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,890 posts
  • LocationGallatin, TN

Posted 26 January 2014 - 04:11 PM

You need to find a SQLITE library supported by your language of choice. Standard SQLItE functionality is built into some languages, or flavors of languages. Just google your  language and sqlite to see the options.

When I wrote a few utilities, I used QT C++ which has sqlite commands built in and easy to use. I think I just included the library that had that functionality and everything compiled fine.

Something like this:

#include <QSqlDatabase>
#include <QSqlQuery>