Please read the Forum Rules before posting.

Photo
- - - - -

Converting large collection (newbie)

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Carl Cerecke

Carl Cerecke

New to Bible Support

• Veterans
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationAuckland, New Zealand

Posted 26 August 2012 - 04:42 AM

Hi,

I'm a newbie to bible software, but I have 20+ years experience writing software. This is a bit long, sorry, but I do have a question by the time you get to the end!

What I want to achieve:

Firstly, convert the books into a more suitable format. One which enables the essential non-linearity of much the information to be expressed naturally (for example, a side-bar on "judgement" might be useful to display in a number of books, or even a few times in a single book, but the side-bar information itself should only need to be written once: Any updates to that information should edit the canonical copy of that information, and everywhere that sidebar appears can simply 'point' to the one source.) This sort of non-linearity is probably best represented with a website, as the www is inherently non-linear.

Once the books have been dissected into their component parts, a "book" then can be specified by a sequential listing of the individual components of which that book comprises.

A tool can then be written which takes a "book" specification, and generates the output format that is to be desired, whether that is pdf, MS-word, e-sword module, or sword-project module, or something else. I'm yet to find really good low-level information on how these modules are formatted, which is essential if I'm to write such a tool.

The advantage of this system is that any change to the source material can simply be propagated to all the different works that include that material by a simply pushing a virtual button.

Question:
1. Is there a set of tools for doing this? (I'm guessing "no" here. At least, I haven't found anything obvious)