Please read the Forum Rules before posting.

Photo
- - - - -

E-Sword won't open, stuck on logo tried all fixes listed.

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 Paul92

Paul92

New to Bible Support

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 October 2021 - 04:37 AM

Hi all

Firstly a bit of a background here, I have no previous use of e-Sword, but I am an IT Technician,currently on holiday, and a client of mine in South Africa has having issues opening e-Sword 13. He explained to me that the error occurred after he had 6 Windows of e-Sword running, as he says it's easier for him to do research. I'm currently assisting him remotely, but had to put the job on hold till I get more info, with regards to a way forward. 

He has an i3, with 4gb of RAM, with 1 1TB HD
his operating system is Windows 10 Education 21H1,

I have checked, and Windows Media Player is installed in Optional Features, and is present and opens in both C:\Program Files, and C:\Program Files (x86)
I have run CCleaner, SFC /Scannow, and even done hard drive diagnostic tests, and scandisk. All tests came back perfectly healthy

I uninstalled e-Sword using your uninstaller which is meant to remove all traces of e-Sword, and that didn't help. I found, and installed a copy of version 11, and that didn't open, but it did on my personal machine. 
I also ran a debugger to see where it was hanging, and got nowhere. 

I did see a printer window in task manager as part of e-Sword, but cannot see what it is. 

If anybody is able to assist, I would greatly appreciate it, and I would gladly assist with using my skills to provide all info to get this sorted. 

Thanks & God Bless. 

Edited by Paul92, 02 October 2021 - 04:38 AM.

#2 JPG

JPG

Jon.

• Moderators
  • 1,677 posts

Posted 02 October 2021 - 05:05 AM

uninstall e-Sword and then clear any junk it left behind in the registry

Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\VB and VBA Program Settings

Install e-Sword 13.

#3 Queen_AdiYah