Please read the Forum Rules before posting.

Photo
- - - - -

e-sword for Linux?

12 replies to this topic

#1 Charles E. Miller Sr.

Charles E. Miller Sr.

New to Bible Support

• Veterans
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 January 2021 - 07:37 AM

I have been using e-sword for 10-15 years on windows pc, but I am going to move over to Linux Mint Cinnamon with my new computer. Am I going to be able to use e-sword on my Linux computer at all? I have seen that a program called "Wine" will enable Windows programs  to work, but e-sword is probably bigger than most Windows apps. Is it feasible to download and/or use e-sword at all in Linux. Please advise asap as I will be buying  my new computer very soon. Thanks in advance and God Bless!!!

Charles E. Miller, Sr.

#2 PeanutGallery

PeanutGallery

e-Sword Fanatic

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 26 January 2021 - 12:48 PM

This link supports Ubuntu type:

https://appdb.winehq...rsion&iId=31351

I use a Debian 9 (Stretch} based Linux; e-sword works quite well with my version, I used PlayOnLinux to install since it was easier to load dependencies. Otherwise, you'll need Wine and Winetricks to load dependencies.

#3 silverys

silverys

New to Bible Support

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • LocationCaribbean Sea

Posted 12 July 2021 - 06:38 PM

esword v10 to v12 runs on linux using WINE ,I recommend using playonlinux, or crossover and installing it inside a bottle, you can search for "how to install esword on linux" on youtube to know how to do it, anyway Beyond that there are other programs like Xiphos bible study or BibleTime, these I think you can install them from the repositories of your distro, they are similar but they use the modules in the-sword-project format.

#4 DaveGNyberg

DaveGNyberg

New to Bible Support

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 December 2022 - 03:52 PM

I recently upgraded my monitors from 720p to 4K.

I'm running Ubuntu, current LTS.